top of page
  • Writer's pictureJamie Sanderson

Have you tried it? Bachan's Japanese Barbecue Sauce


When Bachan's say "our ingredients matter" they mean it. Flavor with a punch!

I wanted to tell you all about some great tasting barbecue sauce. Trust me, I've tried many times, whether it be in the back yard right on the grill or at local restaurant. The results have been the same.


I couldn't get enough of it.


Bachan's is authentic and family oriented. Bachan means "granny" in Japanese, so you know the recipe is generational, and means a lot.


Judy Yokoyama, known to our family as Bachan, was born in Sebastopol in 1936. One of six kids, her family was a cornerstone from the start. From her time at Camp Amache internment camp to living and working on an apple ranch, her childhood was challenging but filled with joy surrounded by family. She inherited a hard work ethic, which she has passed down. Justin, who always shared her values, fondly remembers Bachan listening for hours as he shared his childhood entrepreneurial dreams. Family was always her biggest priority. Attending every grandkids’ sporting event, helping with homework, holding weekly Sunday dinners, she always strengthened her family and offered sage advice. These words of wisdom have lifted up generations, inspiring Justin as a kid, and now encouraging his daughters. Today, we proudly share these “Bachanisms” with you.


I recently grilled pork chops using the barbecue sauce as a marinade. These were legit hits at the dinner table.



Here's more on Bachan's from Justin Gill, the founder.


I have dreamed of bringing our family's sauce to market since I was a kid. During the holidays my family would brew batches of our sauce to give out to clients of our family Landscape business. Rave reviews, requests for more, and offers to purchase always followed. I started working on this business back in 2013. Little did I know that keeping the integrity of our sauce and making it in a way that would truly honor my family heritage and values, would be much more difficult than I anticipated. Fast forward 6 years and my childhood dream is now a reality. I am proud to say that the Japanese Barbecue Sauce that we finally brought to market in 2019 is a true and sound representation of the sauce that my family made during the holidays for so many years. Packing up orders for our own customers, with my wife and kids, is a full circle experience that I could not be more grateful for. Arigatou gozaimasu.


I used this sauce at The Wicked Tuna on sushi I ordered, weeks before moving to Greenville. Superb enhancement of the sushi with the flavors from this sauce. It was beautifully delicious. Straight fire, my friends.


They have recently come out with a hot & spicy flavor. I recommend you trying the original and the newest flavor. They are both go-tos for anything you can imagine. Chicken, pork, steaks, sushi. You think of it, you can probably sauce it.


Here's a gyoza recipe using the hot & spicy flavor, straight from Bachan's. I used the original sauce on gyoza from Yagi Sushi & Hibachi. Powerful yum mode engaged!





43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentarer


bottom of page