top of page
  • Writer's pictureJamie Sanderson

Hey, what's with the restaurant swag?

Here's how I support multiple eateries in one snap of a pic!



I have been asked quite a few questions on why I am tagging restaurants in posts on social media that I am not even at. For example, look at the photo I just shared. Those two big heaping plates of food were enjoyed at Boondocks Fish Camp & BBQ in Gray Court, South Carolina.


But, I tagged Rustic Table of Pawleys Island, South Carolina, and Franklin Barbecue located in Austin, Texas.


Why?


You'd be surprised how many eateries in this big old world have a legit merch game. And, unbeknowst to many, it's all available to you as a customer to buy and rep even when you're not eating the food at the joint!


Years past, it was an afterthought to think about whether a restaurant could be showcased on a hat, shirt or even stickers. Now, with the help of trendy marketing strategists, it's becoming its own entity. For example, I literally walked into a Willy Taco - Feed & Seed just to get a few shirts.


More, these establishments are taking logos of brands past you grew up with and revitalizing them with their visions.


Clock Tower Taproom & Billiards swag worn at New York Butcher Shoppe in Simpsonville, S.C.

Let's look at Clock Tower Taproom & Billiards and their merch. Does the shirt I am wearing look familiar?


How many times did we hear a band in the 90s (I am showing my grunge, punk addiction, lol) and go to grab apparel to rep them? I know I did. Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Rancid, Sublime, The Offspring, etc. You get it.


Many in the culinary industry are catching on. And, honestly, it's not just restaurants. Farmers and purveyors are putting skin in the game, hoping that a hat or shirt will be picked up along with some cucumbers, tomatoes, and watermelons.


Showing off A & A Produce Company and Southern Roots Reunion at a recent CAMP GVL stop

Think about it. For almost 10 years I have been supporting the culinary industry and have built a following. I know I can't be at 8-10 places in a day, however, my wife will tell you we did just that - and still do at times - plan a weekend for exactly that. So, why not wear what I can to showcase where I have already been?


The feedback has been enormous! A recent visit to CAMP Greenville led to a few people asking about "The Produce Dude" on my hoodie. Well, he's Andy Kemp of A & A Produce Company. A good friend, he and his team support many restaurants on the Grand Strand and in the Lowcountry. Why not wear his brand to give me an opportunity to talk about it. He can't be there, but I can.


And with this product placement, it allows for tagging on social platforms to give exposure to my audience, leading to asking questions about why they are tagged.


Three businesses in one shot - Lewis Barbecue, Hot Fish Club and Robin's Just Dessert


Repping The Wicked Tuna and Bovine's Restaurant of Murrells Inlet at The Bohemian Cafe in Greenville

So, what are the benefits... To those being worn, it gives publicity to the eateries. It showcases my past stops and continues to keep them in the spotlight. And when posted on social media, it's taggable and allows all restaurants included to get to know one another.


That Boondocks Fish Camp & BBQ photo... The owners actually saw some of my Murrells Inlet food postings and swag and took a trip to enjoy the eats. Yeah, it works.


So, a trip to The Bohemian Cafe saw me wearing my The Wicked Tuna and Bovine's Restaurant of Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, hat and shirt. A second trip showcased what Cheeky Tees in Fountain Inn could do with a popular soft drink logo and my Southern Roots (BBQ) Reunion hat. Two visits with multiple culinary showcases.



Here's the deal. When you stop in to eat at your favorite restaurant, hit them up on their swag! Walk out with something repping them and the great experience you had. Allow people to ask about it and then share your story! Encourage people to visit and line them up for an excellent culinary experience.


It's the thing to do when you can't eat there all the time.


Lewis Barbecue Swag Wall - hats, shirts, hoodies, etc.

Comments


bottom of page