top of page
  • Writer's pictureJamie Sanderson

The end of 2021 is bittersweet: Georgetown Foodland becomes The Culinary Encourager


Ms. Janette is one of the many friends I miss being around. Janette's Super Burger rose to new, higher levels in 2021.

So, where do I begin.


I found myself asking that after ending the eight-year run of Georgetown Foodland. I was offered a great opportunity in the upstate of South Carolina in April, and with that, had to come a rebirth if I was going to continue my passion in supporting the culinary industry of this state.


I live in Simpsonville, South Carolina, which is a hop-skip-jump from many great places in Greenville County. Along with learning a new job, getting a new house, and exploring the area, I'd had to think about taking my efforts to a national level.


I'd been using "culinary encourager" for about a year or so as a tagline to Georgetown Foodland. I felt it was only right to make that the focal point of what I was doing, who I am.


It was cemented after Euphoria 2021 here in Greenville. I had great conversations with the organizers, and had many people speak upon my behalf in regards to me being part of this year's event. But, I wasn't sure I was going to be as engaged as I was with Georgetown Foodland.


Sure enough, it only took me being there to soak up the smells, sounds and tastes to realize it will always be something I'll do. It was just a matter of time before I created the new logo.


I had already created a new website, so I added the logo, sections, stories and videos to begin a new, but familiar culinary journey.


This one, though, involves getting to know new faces, people and places.



You can click the photo above to learn about me. I don't expect people to rely on history. Consider this an informal introduction to those who have yet to hear or see me.


The beginning of 2021 started out with the culinary industry praying the first quarter of the year would allow them to make up for what was lost in the early months of the pandemic. With Georgetown Foodland as the vessel, I took their message of faith, hospitality and meals to the masses. This particular concept was called Sunday Brunch Sessions.



Georgetown County had never seen anything like this before. The restaurant had a packed house, with people enjoying brunch and watching a live culinary show at the same time - whether it be with their heads up or on their phones. It was streamed on social media.


The first episode featured Patrick Runey of TW Graham & Co., located in McClellanville, South Carolina.


The other major concept was the first ever MarshWalk Restaurant week. Here I was, given the opportunity to hype up an event I knew was going to be spectacular - for eight restaurants in Murrells Inlet. To be trusted enough to do this was a humbling, rewarding experience in my life I'll never forget.



The last event I was part of was the chili cookoff in the City of Georgetown.



It was emotional for me because I realized as much as I did for the restaurants in Georgetown, Horry Counties, there wasn't a place for me there to grow on top of what I had already built. I was persistent in my efforts, but to no avail.


Then came an opportunity to earn a living that had longevity and was stable, giving me endless opportunities within. Plus, I was able to expand my passion like never before.


This year saw some amazing highs with friends, new opportunities and doors closed I thought wouldn't be. That's life.


It's what we make of it, not what it makes of us, that determines our happiness.


Trust me, I cried and wept for a month or so after leaving. Why? Because I really had my heart and soul in seeing Georgetown being a culinary destination. It's a shame others there didn't see my fortitude, integrity and work ethic as deliverables towards that goal.


I wish all my friends in the culinary industry a very Happy New Year. I hope 2022 brings you all the very best. You all have earned it, especially these last couple of years.


I, for one, have been very fortunate and thankful for being a part of your lives. I am eternally grateful to the kitchens you let me in, the dishes you cooked for me, the trust you showed in me to tell your stories.


To the chefs, restaurant owners, farmers and all others representing the Georgetown culinary field, I miss you all and really enjoyed helping you as much as I could. What you may not realize is that you all helped me a lot more.


For 2022, I hope the fine people of Greenville County and beyond get to experience my love and passion for the chefs and restaurants. And, as always...


#gotoyournomnomplace and be a #culinaryencourager in 2022. End the negativity towards restaurants in the public forum. Quit the ridicule of those who only wish to provide you with a great experience and awesome meal.


Being positive is one thing. Being persistent with positivity is how long-term change for the best begins. It builds trust.


The only thing in this for me is seeing those I break bread with succeed and build on top of those successes.

165 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page